NEA – 5 Tips for Better Relationships With Your Students

I couldn’t agree with the advice this article offers more!

If these tips are followed, teachers will have very little classroom management issues to deal with. I teach remedial and intervention classes at the high school and middle school level. The majority of my students are unmotivated learners who struggle with academics. Many have poor work habits, failed classss before, and may act out when feeling bored or feeling unsuccessful with their task. I am often asked what do I do to have such a well behaved class and I tell them exactly what NEA has summarized.

NEA – 5 Tips for Better Relationships With Your Students.

One year the student who exhibited the most challenging behavior regularly due to being a huge class clown that always seem to compete for the attention of my class, said something that will stay with me forever. He was a known gang member prone to bullying and causing constant class disruptions but I got along with him. One day he announced that he liked coming to my class because it is such a “kick back” class.
This alarmed me greatly because that is not how I see my class or the reputation I want it to have.
I asked him, “When when does even five seconds go by in here that you are not required to be doing some kind of work?” He looked puzzled and replied with, “Oh yeah.”
At the end if class he told me that he thought about it and meant that this is the class that he is the most relaxed in. This is what I had hoped he meant. That is the environment I strive to provide by getting along with my students.

Many studies have shown that when students are free of stress more learning takes place. Getting along with my students and following what this article advises not only makes my time easier with my students, but also is related to why my students achieve so much in my classes.

Leave a Reply

