CALL + RESPONSE trailer (in theaters October)

CALL+RESPONSE is a first of its kind feature documentary film that reveals the world’s 27 million dirtiest secrets: there are more slaves today than ever before in human history. CALL+RESPONSE goes deep undercover where slavery is thriving from the child brothels of Cambodia to the slave brick kilns of rural India to reveal that in 2007, Slave Traders made more money than Google, Nike and Starbucks combined.Luminaries on the issue such as Cornel West, Madeleine Albright, Daryl Hannah, Julia Ormond, Ashley Judd, Nicholas Kristof, and many other prominent political and cultural figures offer first hand account of this 21st century trade. Performances from Grammy-winning and critically acclaimed artists including Moby, Natasha Bedingfield, Cold War Kids, Matisyahu, Imogen Heap, Talib Kweli, Five For Fighting, Switchfoot, members of Nickel Creek and Tom Petty’s Heartbreakers, Rocco Deluca move this chilling information into inspiration for stopping it.Music is part of the movement against human slavery. Dr. Cornel West connects the music of the American slave fields to the popular music we listen to today, and offers this connection as a rallying cry for the modern abolitionist movement currently brewing.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

3 thoughts on “CALL + RESPONSE trailer (in theaters October)

  1. Mark Labberton says:

    Hey Justin,

    I really, really thank you so much for the labors you have put into this great video. As I assume you know, we are going to show it on October 16 in one of the Berkeley theaters as part of our Global Church Conference which this year has the theme: Global Slavery and the Plague of Poverty, Oct 17-19. I am so glad this film as been made. It is a great tool. I’d love to talk to you if you are available.

  2. This is film that is greatly needed! I too have been talking about this issue for some time now. I even published a book, “Sarafina’s Wish’, A Young Girl’s Flight for Freedom that I made available to students, especially young girls. I watched you on Morning Joe and I thought Wow! Great! I pray that Modern Day Slavery will meet a Modern Day End.
    Keeep up the support for the eradication of this awful entity.

  3. Byron Lipper says:

    Thank you for your post. I saw this movie a few nights ago with my wife, and she and I cannot quit thinking about what else we can do to help this cause. From the research we have done so far, it seems like funding the cause may be the lesser need behind actual hands and feet to bring freedom and show love to the rescued slaves. I have no idea how to begin a dialogue about meeting the physical needs of these people who were created in the image of God, but it grieves me to know that their freedom can be bought, but their options may limited.

    I am excited about the attention this cause has generated, but I would like to encourage others to not only donate money, but hands and feet.

Leave a Reply

